Arkansas QBs earn Parade All-America honors

A pair of Arkansas prep quarterbacks were honored by Parade Magazine on Friday.

Charleston’s Ty Storey was named a first-team All-American and Pulaski Academy’s Will Hefley was named an honorable mention All-American.

Storey, who is already enrolled at Arkansas, has won a slew of awards, including MaxPreps Small School Player of the Year and Arkansas Gatorade Player of the Year, for his play in 2014.

Leading the Tigers to their second straight state title and 29th consecutive win, Storey accounted for 371 yards and five touchdowns in the Class 3A state title game, including the game-winning touchdown pass with 17 seconds left.

The performance capped a career in which he threw for 12,860 yards and 154 touchdowns, which rank third and second, respectively, in Arkansas history.

Hefley, who is committed to Tulsa, also led his team to a state title, as Pulaski Academy beat Wynne 38-28 in the Class 5A state championship.

In the game, he completed 36 of 56 passes (64.3 percent) for 486 yards and four touchdowns, earning most valuable player honors.

His 4,897 passing yards in 2014 rank sixth in Arkansas history, while 62 touchdown passes are tied for sixth-most in a single season.

Only a two-year starter for the Bruins, Hefley finished his career with 9,859 yards and 128 touchdowns.

Storey’s selection to the 2015 Parade All-American team makes him the first Arkansas player to be a first-teamer since Pulaski Academy tight end Hunter Henry in 2013.

Past Parade All-Americans from Arkansas*

2013: Hunter Henry (TE, Pulaski Academy)

2012: Fredi Knighten (QB, Pulaski Academy)

2011: Brey Cook (OL, Springdale Har-Ber), Kiehl Frazier (QB, Shiloh Christian)

2010: Michael Dyer (RB, Little Rock Christian)

2007: Broderick Green (RB, Pulaski Academy), Lee Ziemba (OL, Rogers)

2006: Mitch Mustain (QB, Springdale)

2005: Darren McFadden (All-Purpose, Oak Grove)

2004: Peyton Hillis (RB, Conway)

2003: Bret Smith (WR, Warren)

2001: Shawn Andrews (OL, Camden Fairview), Cedric Houston (RB, Clarendon), Jeb Huckeba (LB, Harding Academy)

1999: Gary Brashears (QB, Clarksville), Cedric Cobbs (RB, J.A. Fair)

1998: Jonathan Adams (RB, Osceola)

1997: Adrian Wilson (OL, Jacksonville)

1994: Tyrone Henry (RB, Rivercrest)

1993: Don Struebing (OL, Springdale)

1985: Freddie Childress (OL, Little Rock Central), Eric Mitchel (QB, Pine Bluff), James Rouse (RB, Little Rock Parkview)

1984: Keith Jackson (TE/WR, Little Rock Parkview)

1980: Shawn Jones (RB, Ole Main)

1977: Bobby Duckworth (End, Hamburg)

1976: Robert Farrell (WR/TE, Little Rock Central)

1975: Donnie Bobs (DB, Atkins)

1974: Jerry Eckwood (RB, Brinkley), Leotis Harris (OL, Little Rock Hall)

1970: Steve Freeland (DB, Prescott)

1969: Bill Kennedy (OL, Pine Bluff)

1965: Bobby Kinkead (RB, Little Rock Hall)

1964: Gordon Norwood (Back, Pine Bluff)

*Years reflect when the player graduated high school, not when the player’s season was. For example, Hunter Henry was named to the 2013 Parade All-American team after his performance in the 2012 season.

Andrew Hutchinson

Andrew Hutchinson

Sports Reporter at NWA Media
Andrew Hutchinson is a multimedia sports reporter for NWA Media.
Andrew Hutchinson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *